Home Page




Pub Events










Pub of the Year 2008

North Cotswold Branch of the Campaign for Real Ale


Kings Head, Bledington


  On Thursday evening 22nd May a certificate was presented to the Kings Head Bledington as CAMRA North Cotswold Branch Pub of the Year 2008. Branch Chairman Peter White presented the framed certificate to Archie and Nicola Orr-Ewing for consistently good real ale quality and service beating nearly 100 other pubs in the North Cotswold area. They have run the pub for 8 years and already have achieved significant recognition and are listed in both the Good Beer Guide and the Good Pub guide.


  In presenting the award Peter White drew attention to some of the features that have contributed to this latest success, namely providing consistent excellent service from the staff led by Manager Justin Harris who has maintained standards particularly over the past few years whilst Archie has been busy establishing the sister pub the Swan at Swinbrook. The choice of beer has been varied with very fair opportunities for local and regional micro brewers and larger brewers. Both pubs suffered flooding last year and recovered very quickly due to wonderful staff support.


  The Kings Head has drawn comment from various National publications such as the Sunday Times and Evening Standard, on its food, beer and idyllic location in the picture postcard village of Bledington in a prime position close to the stream and duck pond.


  The main line Station of Kingham is close by allowing easy transport to London and has also attracted some Royal visitors.


  The presentation was very well attended by CAMRA North Cotswold Branch Members, supported by Shakespeare, Gloucestershire and North Oxford Branch members who enjoyed a good selection of Real ale and a gourmet buffet completing the evening in fine style.


  The Kings Head now goes forward for assessment against other Branch Pub of the year award winners in the South West Region and we wish them every success as a worthy winner of North Cotswold POTY 2008